New Year, New Resolutions

Ok, I hate New Year’s Resolutions…

I said it, they suck. They always lead to disappointments and crap. Every year, millions of people choose this arbitrary day, which by the way is like any other day, and state I will change this year starting NOW!

And here I am doing the exact same, but it’s with a goal in mind. I want to post at least one blog post every week for the upcoming year. I’m doing so in the hope that it may help me cope with the craziness (and simultaneous mundaneness) that is my current life. I mean don’t get me wrong, things are going well here: I have a job that I enjoy and pushes me every day, I have great friends, I live in a new place that am beginning to really feel comfortable in, and things are good. That having been said, I am a nostalgic person, and I always look back. I miss living in London every day. I miss Denver and the friend group I cultivated last year. I miss being in a, let’s say, less conservative town which might allow me to prance around in my underwear every week while being allowed to make out with hot men without being judged too much. I miss traveling and having the opportunity to travel (let’s face it, Wichita isn’t really an international travel hub), and having the time and money to do so (adulting is hard…). So this year is full of many new things, but simultaneously a lot of letting go of things, and this blog has always provided me with a way of clearing my brain a bit while also getting amazing feedback and support from whoever is listening.

So this year I will do a blog post every week. I will be discussing stuff from work and medicine, stuff about being a gay guy in Kansas, stuff about sex, stuff about love, and stuff about just general existential dread (yeah we’re going to get deep, balls deep you might say). And I want to push myself to find goals this year that are attainable and trying new things. So a blog post every week is doable, and will push me and remind me that even while I’m buried in work, I need to do something for me. And this year, I hope to clarify what goals I am heading towards.

In medical residency, it’s always hard to know where you’re headed. You have a general idea, but it’s not very clear because there are so many variables. I want by the end of 2017 for me to have a better idea of what that is. I also want to move towards being more content with what I have going for me than being sad of what I feel I’m missing out on.

So here’s to a new year, new adventures, and new stories. Thanks for sticking around even though I haven’t stuck around myself, and let’s hope we get a lot more conversations started in 2017!!

Leave a comment